Skip to main content Skip to search
Tibet Autonomous Region

Established in 1965, the Tibet Autonomous Region (TAR) is a contemporary administrative unit of China that includes the cultural regions of Western and Central Tibet, as well as parts of Eastern Tibet, and spans an area of more than 1,200,000 km2. As part of the Tibetan Plateau, the TAR contains several of the world’s highest mountains (Mount Everest), lakes (Yamdrok Yumtso), and rivers (Yarlung Tsangpo). With its capital of Lhasa the region supports a population of over 3 million.

Feature Types


Full map Google Maps  Google Earth

  • བོད་རང་སྐྱོང་ལྗོངས། (Tibetan, Tibetan script, Original)
    • > Tibet Autonomous Region (English, Latin script, Translation)
      • > TAR (English, Latin script, Alt Spelling-Acronym)
    • > Bö Rangkyong Jong (Tibetan, Latin script, Transcription-THL Simplified Tibetan Transcription)
    • > bod rang skyong ljongs (Tibetan, Latin script, Transliteration-THL Extended Wylie Transliteration)
  • 西藏自治區 (Chinese, Traditional Chinese Characters, Original)
    • > 西藏自治区 (Chinese, Simplified Chinese Characters, Transliteration-Traditional-to-Simplified Chinese Transliteration)
    • > Xizang Zizhiqu (Chinese, Latin script, Transcription-Pinyin Transcription)

Place ID: F2

THL Extended GB Code: 5400000000

  • ST_MultiPolygon
  • ST_MultiPolygon
  • ST_MultiPolygon

GIS Resources (feature alone)

GIS Resources (including contained features)

Sorry, this feature contains too many features for us to currently be able to provide this data.